MEMBERS OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE CENTER

Frederick Reece

Director
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7030
E-Mail: freece@ku.edu.tr 
Home Page: 
Education:

  • M.A., Georgia State University
  • B.Sc., Georgia Institute of Technology

Aybüke Filiz Gürer
 Associate Director
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7031
E-Mail: ayfiliz@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • Ph.D., Bogazici University (ongoing)
  • M.A., Portland State University
  • B.A., Bogaziçi University

Research Interests: Media Studies, Portfolio Management, Public Speaking

Megi Kalaora
 Administrative Assistant
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7032
E-Mail: mkalaora@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • B.A., Istanbul Bilgi University

Abdullah Kaya
 Office Support Personnel
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7033
E-Mail: abkaya@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 
  •  

Anja Varlı
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7072
E-Mail: avarli@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Julius Maximilians Universität Würzburg
  • B.A., Julius Maximilians Universität Würzburg

Research Interests: Academic Writing, American Literature, Cultural Studies

Aslı Pekin Ipekli
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7034
E-Mail: aipekli@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Yildiz Technical University
  • B.A., Istanbul University

Research Interests: Testing and Evaluation in ELT, Multilingualism, Comparative Grammar

Ayça Palancılar
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7040
E-Mail: apalancilar@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Bilkent University
  • B.A., Bilkent University

Research Interests: Sociolinguistics, Psycholinguistics, Guided Discovery, Language Transfer

Claudette Clerc
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7083
E-Mail: cclerc@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A.,San Francisco State University
  • B.A., University of California Santa Cruz
  • Graduate Certificate, RMIT University

Daniel James Roberts
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7080
E-Mail: droberts@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Sunderland
  • B.Sc., University of Northumbria

Erin Todey
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7046
E-Mail: etodey@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Iowa State University
  • B.A., The University of Iowa

Research Interests: Computer-Assisted Language Learning (CALL), Language Assessment, Academic Writing, Pronunciation, and IEP Management

Esin Soyluoğlu
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7055
E-Mail: esoyluoglu@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Sussex
  • B.A., Istanbul University

Research Interests: Learner Autonomy, Post-colonial Literature

Evrim Vural
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7043
E-Mail: evvural@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., State University of New York at Albany
  • B.A., Bogaziçi University

Research Interests: Task-Based Learning/Teaching

Feyza Özalp
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7086
E-Mail: fozalp@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • Ph.D., Işık University (ongoing)
  • M.A., Işık University
  • B.A., Istanbul University

Research Interests: English for Specific Purposes

Gülay Yiğit
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7042
E-Mail: gyigit@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Bilkent University
  • B.A., Middle East Technical University

Research Interests: Curriculum Development, Language Assessment, Educational Evaluation and Measurement, and Analysis and Implementation of the CEFR

Gülten Küçük
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7045
E-Mail: gkucuk@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Marmara University
  • B.A., Bogaziçi University

Research Interests: Educational Administration, Language Testing, Teacher Training, Applied Linguistics

İnci Kartal
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7044
E-Mail: ikartal@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Westminster
  • B.A., Marmara University

Research Interests: Creative Writing, Material Development, Working and Communicating Across Cultures, Phonetics

Jacob Chizzo
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 311-2611
Office: SHS
E-Mail: jchizzo@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.Ed., George Mason University
  • B.A., St. Olaf College

Research Interests: English for Specific Purposes (ESP); Curriculum Development; Sociocultural Factors in Language Acquisition; Educational Technology

John Alff
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7047
E-Mail: jalff@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Washington
  • B.A., Widener University

Kader Demirci
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7063
E-Mail: kdemirci@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Yeditepe University
  • B.A., Bogazici University

Research Interests: Testing and Assessment

Katherine Aileen Andersen
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7069
E-Mail: kandersen@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Chicago
  • B.A., Luther College

Research Interests: Language acquisition, testing, curriculum development, classroom motivation, cultural knowledge transmission

Kathryn Middlebrooks
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7049
Office: SHS
E-Mail: kmiddlebrooks@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Iowa State University
  • B.A., Berry College

Research Interests: Computer Assisted Language Learning (CALL)

Kelly Dowley
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7052
E-Mail: kdowley@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Massachusetts Boston
  • B.A., Northeastern University

Research Interests:  Integrating Culture into Language Curriculum, Sociolinguistics, Psycholinguistics

Kirsty Lyn Roberts
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7067
E-Mail: kroberts@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Sunderland
  • B.A., Northumbria University

Research Interests:  The affect of various instructor accents on students' development of English comprehension.

Lauren Alva
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7064
E-Mail: lalva@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., San Francisco State University
  • B.A., University of California, Los Angeles

Leon Pinsky
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7051
E-Mail: lpinsky@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Monterey Institute of International Studies
  • B.A., University of California at Los Angeles

Research Interests: Language Acquisition, Language and Culture, Assessment

Liana Corniel
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7059
E-Mail: lcorniel@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.S., City College of New York
  • B.A., City University of New York

Research Interests: Vocabulary Acquisition, Drama in Education, Business English

Martha Sutter
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7053
E-Mail: msutter@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Kent State University
  • B.S., University of Akron
Matthew Howell
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7054
E-Mail: mhowell@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.Ed., Framingham State College
  • B.A., John Brown University

Research Interests: International Relations and History, Cultural Change and Integration Patterns

Melinda Moss-Senel
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7056
E-Mail: mesenel@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Montclair State University
  • B.A., University of North Alabama

Research Interests: Sociolinguistics, Corpus Linguistics

Meram Arvas
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7057
E-Mail: marvas@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Hacettepe University
  • B.A., Hacettepe University

Research Interests: Translation, Contemporary British and American Literature

Mora Hockstein
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7079
E-Mail: mhockstein@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., University of Maryland
  • B.A., University of North Carolina

Research Interests: Language Teacher Education, Academic Literacy, Bilingual Language Acquisition, Brain-Based Learning

Müge Lenbet
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7081
E-Mail: mlenbet@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Hacettepe University
  • B.A., Hacettepe University

Research Interests: Cultural Studies, American Short Stories

Nihal Akdere
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7048
E-Mail: nakdere@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • Ph.D., Middle East Technical University
  • M.A., Middle East Technical University
  • B.A., Middle East Technical University

Research Interests: Critical Thinking, Communication in Education, Translation, Curriculum and Materials Development

Nihal Gökgöz
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7058
E-Mail: ngokgoz@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Marmara University
  • B.A., Istanbul University

Research Interests: Effects of Cognitive Task Complexity on Language Production, Task-based Language Learning

Ozan Varlı
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7060
E-Mail: ovarli@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: http://home.ku.edu.tr/~ovarli

Education:

  • Ph.D., Istanbul University (ongoing)
  • M.Sc., State University of New York at Albany
  • B.A., Hacettepe University

Research Interests: Online/Distant Education, Mobile Learning, Virtual Learning Environments, Virtual/Augmented Reality in Education

Özge Dağlıoglu
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7036
E-Mail: odaglioglu@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Yildiz Technical University
  • B.A., Marmara University

Research Interests: Motivation in the EFL Classroom

Sarah Elizabeth Kılınç
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7038
E-Mail: sakilinc@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Bogazici University
  • B.A., Duke University

Research Interests: 

Sarah Metzker Erdemir
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7039
E-Mail: saerdemir@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Monterey Institute of International Studies
  • B.A., University of Oregon
  • B.A., University of Oregon

Research Interests: Cultural Linguistics, Sociolinguistics, Creative Writing

Serpil Vegter
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7041
E-Mail: svegter@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • Ph.D., Tilburg University (ongoing)
  • M.A., Amsterdam Free University
  • M.A., Middle East Technical University
  • B.A., Middle East Technical University

Research Interests: Bilingualism, Language Acquisition

Sevgi Can
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7066
E-Mail: sevgican@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: http://tr.linkedin.com/pub/sevgi-can-vatandas/15/942/337 

Education:

  • M.A., Marmara University
  • B.A., Marmara University

Research Interests: Sociolinguistics, Psycholinguistics, Curriculum Development, Assessment, Teacher Training and Development, Use of Technology in Language Classes

Steve Allgood
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7035
E-Mail: sallgood@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.B.A., Georgia State University
  • B.A., Saint Andrews College, North Carolina

Research Interests: Business English

Tüzün Yüzer
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7068
E-Mail: tyuzer@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Neareast University
  • B.A., Hacettepe University

Research Interests: Curriculum Development, Academic Writing, Drama

Ümran Özgüven
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7065
E-Mail: uozguven@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., California State University Los Angeles
  • B.A., University of California Los Angeles

Research Interests: Identity Issues and Cultural Differences in the ESL Classroom, Reading and Writing for Academic Purposes, Integrating Computers in the ESL Curriculum to Motivate Students

William Kerr
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7071
E-Mail: wkerr@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.Ed., Mount St.Vincent University
  • B.Ed., Dalhousie University
  • B.A., Dalhousie University

Research Interests: Feedback in Second Language Learning, Gender and Language

Yasemin Erginay
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7050
E-Mail: yerginay@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • M.A., Bahcesehir University
  • B.A., Koc University

Research Interests: Grammar, Motivation in the EFL Classroom, Teaching English to Adult Learners

Yelda Yavuz
 Instructor
Tel: +90 (212) 338-1000 ext. 7075
E-Mail:  yeldayavuz@ku.edu.tr
Home Page: 

Education:

  • Ph.D., Bahcesehir University (ongoing)
  • M.A., Middle East Technical University
  • B.A., Middle East Technical University

Research Interests: Assessment, Educational Technology